Loading... Please wait...
  • Image 1

Confessin' the Blues, Vol 1 - Various Artists (2 x 12" VINYL LP)


Product Description

Disc 1, Side A:
1. Muddy Waters - Rollin’ Stone
2. Howlin’ Wolf - Little Red Rooster
3. Elmore James w/ Sonny Boy Williamson II - Dust My Broom
4. Slim Harpo - I’m A King Bee
5. Bo Diddley - You Can’t Judge A Book By Its Cover
6. Chuck Berry - Little Queenie

Disc 1, Side B:
1. John Lee Hooker - Boogie Chillen
2. Little Walter - I Hate To See You Go
3. Jimmy Reed - Bright Lights, Big City
4. Robert Johnson - Love In Vain Blues
5. Mississippi Fred McDowell - You Gotta Move

Disc 2, Side A:
1. Howlin’ Wolf - Just Like I Treat You
2. Eddie Taylor - Ride ’Em On Down
3. Little Walter - Blue And Lonesome
4. Lightnin’ Slim - Hoodoo Blues
5. Bo Diddley - Crawdad

Disc 2, Side B:
1. Little Walter - Just Your Fool
2. Magic Sam - All Your Love
3. Big Maceo - Worried Life Blues
4. Amos Milburn - Down The Road Apiece
5. Jay McShann & Walter Brown - Confessin’ The Blues

Confessin’ The Blues collects together the greatest bluesmen ever and provides a perfect education to the genre. The tracklisting has been chosen by The Rolling Stones and is released via BMG. This is Volume 1.

Confessin’ The Blues includes tracks by the biggest Blues pioneers including Howlin’ Wolf, John Lee Hooker, Elmore James, Muddy Waters, Chuck Berry, Big Bill Broonzy and Robert Johnson. All of these artists had an impact on the nascent Rolling Stones, be they influencing Keith’s guitar licks or Mick’s vocals and lyrics. As Ronnie Wood says: “That’s how Mick and Keith first got close as well, on the train coming back from college. They noticed each other’s record collection and it was, “Hey, you’ve got Muddy Waters. You must be a good guy, let’s form a band”.

This 2LP set includes liner notes by music journalist Colin Larkin and the album cover artwork comes courtesy of Stones guitarist Ronnie Wood who has added his own personal twist to the project by painting his interpretation of a Bluesman.

Find Similar Products by Category

Product Reviews

Write your own product review

  1. GLIMMER SELECTION 1 5 Star Review

    Posted by on 26th Nov 2018

    This is an outstanding collection of songs, chosen by Mick and Keith, some of which I was familiar with. The selection was across the board, and showed how many different artists influenced them. A great deal of thought was put into this compilation, making it a brilliant album to listen to.

Free UK Shipping

Recent Updates

Sign up to our newsletter

Connect with us: Facebook Twitter Instagram