Loading... Please wait...
  • Image 1

James Brown - Live At Home With His Bad Self (CD)


Product Description

1. Say It Loud - I'm Black and I'm Proud (Live from Augusta, GA, 1969)
2. James Brown Thanks and Introduction to World (Live from Augusta, GA, 1969)
3. World
4. Stage Dialogue
5. Lowdown Popcorn
6. Spinning Wheel
7. If I Ruled the World
8. Kansas City
9. Introduction to Startime
10. I Don't Want Nobody to Give Me Nothing (Open Up the Door I'll Get It Myself)
11. I Got the Feelin'/Licking Stick-licking Stick
12. Try Me
13. There Was a Time
14. Give It Up Or Turnit a Loose
15. It's a Man's Man's World
16. Please, Please, Please
17. I Can't Stand Myself (When You Touch Me)
18. Mother Popcorn

The 50th anniversary of James Brown’s 1st October, 1969 homecoming concert in Augusta, Georgia, will be celebrated with the first-ever release of the complete show, newly mixed and including seven never-before-issued performances.

Live at Home with His Bad Self is newly mixed from the original analog multi-tracks by Peter A. Barker. The album’s seven previously unreleased performances include two instrumentals, “Lowdown Popcorn” and “Spinning Wheel,” which were re-cut with canned applause for the Sex Machine release. Also included is Brown’s then-current hit, “World,” performed at the concert with a live vocal over a tape of the studio recording’s instrumental arrangement, an unusual move which Brown explains to the audience, while “There Was A Time” and “Mother Popcorn,” originally heavily edited on Sex Machine, are doubled in length. Other highlights include an actual live rendition of “Give It Up Or Turnit A Loose,” Brown’s influential hit from 1968, a title fans will note appears on the Sex Machine album, but may not be aware that version is a studio re-record.

Include an essay by Alan Leeds, the GRAMMY®-winning former James Brown tour manager and publicist who is also the album’s co-producer.

Find Similar Products by Category

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Write your own product review

Free UK Shipping

Recent Updates

Sign up to our newsletter

Connect with us: Facebook Twitter Instagram