Loading... Please wait...
  • Image 1

Pentangle - The Albums: 1968-1972 (7 x CD SET)


Product Description

1. Let No Man Steal Your Thyme
2. Bells
3. Hear My Call
4. Pentangling
5. Mirage
6. Way Behind The Sun
7. Bruton Town
8. Waltz
9. Koan (Take 2)
10. The Wheel
11. The Casbah
12. Bruton Town (Take 3)
13. Hear My Call (Alternate Version)
14. Way Behind The Sun (Alternate Version)
15. Way Behind The Sun (Instrumental)
16. Bruton Town (Take 5)
17. Koan (Take 1)
18. Travelling Song (Non-Lp Single Version With Strings)
19. Poison
20. I Got A Feeling
21. Market Song

1. Market Song
2. No More My Lord
3. Turn Your Money Green
4. Haitian Fight Song
5. A Woman Like You
6. Goodbye Pork-Pie Hat
7. Three Dances (Brentzel Gay/La Rotta/The Earl Of Salisbury)
8. Watch The Stars
9. So Early In The Spring
10. No Exit
11. The Time Has Come
12. Bruton Town
13. Hear My Call
14. Let No Man Steal Your Thyme
15. Bells
16. Travelling Song
17. Waltz
18. Way Behind The Sun
19. John Donne Song

1. Sweet Child
2. I Loved A Lass
3. Three Part Thing
4. Sovay
5. In Time
6. In Your Mind
7. I'Ve Got A Feeling
8. The Trees They Do Grow High
9. Moon Dog
10. Hole In The Coal
11. Hole In The Coal (Alternative Version)
12. The Trees They Do Grow High (Alternative Version)
13. Haitian Fight Song (Studio Version)
14. In Time (Alt. Version)
15. A Woman Like You (Unabridged Trio Version) *
16. I’Ve Got A Woman (Trio Mix) *
17. I Am Lonely (Jansch Solo Mix) *
18. Poison
19. Blues
20. Sally Go Round The Roses (Alt. Version 2)
21. Moondog (Full Band Vsn) *

1. Light Flight (Theme From “Take Three Girls”)
2. Once I Had A Sweetheart
3. Springtime Promises
4. Lyke Wake Dirge
5. Train Song
6. Hunting Song
7. Sally Go Round The Roses
8. The Cuckoo
9. House Carpenter
10. Sally Go Round The Roses (Alternative Version)
11. Cold Mountain (B-Side)
12. I Saw An Angel (B-Side)
13. House Carpenter (Live In Aberdeen)
14. Light Flight (Live In Aberdeen)
15. Pentangling (Live In Aberdeen) CD5
1. A Maid That'S Deep In Love
2. When I Was In My Prime
3. Lord Franklin
4. Cruel Sister
5. Jack Orion
6. Will The Circle Be Unbroken (Take 1, No Harmonica)
7. Rain & Snow (Take 2)
8. Omie Wise (Take 2, Live Vox)
9. John’S Song (Take 7)
10. Reflection (Olympic Studios Take 1)
11. When I Get Home (Alternative Vocal)

1. Wedding Dress
2. Omie Wise
3. Will The Circle Be Unbroken?
4. When I Get Home
5. Rain And Snow
6. Helping Hand
7. So Clear
8. Reflection
9. Shake Shake Mama
10. Kokomo Blues
11. Faro Annie
12. Back On The Road Again
13. Will The Circle Be Unbroken (Take 3, Live Vox)
14. Reflection (Command Studios, Take 1, Wordless Vox)
15. John’S Song (Take 5, Fuzz Guitar)
16. Wondrous Love

1. Sally Free And Easy
2. The Cherry Tree Carol
3. The Snows
4. High Germany
5. People On The Highway
6. Willy O’ Winsbury
7. No Love Is Sorrow
8. Jump, Baby, Jump
9. Lady Of Carlisle
10. When I Get Home (Live At Guildford Civic Hall 11/72)
11. She Moved Through The Fair (Live At Guildford Civic Hall 11/72)
12. Train Song (Live At Guildford Civic Hall 11/72)

When they formed in 1968, Pentangle were hailed as Folk’s first supergroup, fusing elements of jazz and underground music and comprising the twin guitar/songwriting talents of Bert Jansch and John Renbourn with bassist Danny Thompson, drummer Terry Cox and singer Jacqui McShee. Between 1968 and 1972, Pentangle issued six albums – five on legendary Folk label Transatlantic and a swansong release on Reprise. Their debut, The Pentangle (1968), was hailed as a Folk Rock classic and charted in the UK at No. 21. Sequel Sweet Child (also 1968) was an ambitious double album coupling live and studio discs. Third LP Basket Of Light (1969) was their most commercially successful, peaking at No. 5, fuelled by the success of lead track ‘Light Flight’ (the theme to TV series Take Three Girls). Cruel Sister (1970) allowed Pentangle to reinterpret traditional folk songs. Reflection (1971), their last Transatlantic LP, was also among their most adventurous. Solomon’s Seal (1972) proved to be their last album with the original line-up. For the first time ever, these albums are available as a deluxe box set to coincide with the 50th anniversary of the band’s formation. Each album has been expanded with a wealth of bonus material, including choice selections from contemporaneous solo LPs by Bert Jansch and John Renbourn, out-takes and live tracks.

Find Similar Products by Category

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Write your own product review

Free UK Shipping

Recent Updates

Sign up to our newsletter

Connect with us: Facebook Twitter Instagram