Loading... Please wait...
  • Image 1

The Fall - The Fontana Years (6 x CD)


Product Description

Disc 1
1.Sing! Harpy
2.I'm Frank
3.Bill Is Dead
4.Black Monk Theme
5.Popcorn Double Feature
6.Telephone Thing
8.Chicago Now
9.The Littlest Rebel
10.And Therein ...

Disc 2
1.Telephone Thing
2.Telephone Dub
3.British People In Hot Weather
4.Butterflies 4 Brains
5.Arms Control Poseur
6.Arms Control Poseur - Bonus Version
7.Zandra - 12" version
8.Black Monk Theme - Part 2
10.Theme From Error Orror
11.Chicago Now - BBC Exclusive Recording
12.Black Monk Theme - BBC Exclusive Recording
13.Hilary - BBC Exclusive Recording
14.Whizz Bang - BBC Exclusive Recording

Disc 3
1.So What About It?
2.Idiot Joy Showland
3.Edinburgh Man
4.Pitsville Direkt
5.The Book Of Lies
6.The War Against Intelligence
8.You Haven't Found It Yet
9.The Mixer
10.A Lot Of Wind
12.Sinister Waltz

Disc 4
1.White Lightning
2.Blood Outta Stone
3.Zargreb - (Movement 1,2, 3)
4.Life Just Bounces
5.The Funeral Mix - 12" version
6.High Tension Line
7.Xmas With Simon - 12" inch Version
8.Don't Take The Pizza - 12" inch Version
9.So What About It? - Remix 1
10.So What About It? - Remix 2
11.So What About It? - Remix 3
12.The Re-Mixer
13.Cloud Of Black
14.Arid Al's Dream
15.The War Against Intelligence - BBC Exclusive Recording
16.Idiot Joy Showland - BBC Exclusive Recordings
17.A Lot Of Wind - BC Exclusive Recording
18.The Mixer - BBC Exclusive Recording

Disc 5
1.The Birmingham School Of Business
2.Free Range
3.Return - SINCD8 Single
4.Time Enough At Last
5.Everything Hurtz - SINCD8 Single
7.Two-Face !
8.Just Waiting
9.So-Called Dangerous
10.Gentlemen's Agreement
11.Married, 2 Kids
12.Crew Filth

Disc 6
1.Free Range - SINCD8 Single
2.Return - SINCD8 Single
3.Dangerous - SINCD8 Single
4.Everything Hurtz - SINCD8 Single
5.Ed's Babe
6.Pumpkin Head Xscapes - SINCD9 Single
7.The Knight The Devil And Death - SINCD9 Single
8.Free Range - SINCD9 Single
9.Noel's Chemical Effluence
10.The Legend Of Xanadu - Ruby Trax
11.Free Range - BBC Exclusive Recording
12.Kimble - BBC Exclusive Recordings
13.Immortality - BBC Exclusive Recordings
14.Return - BBC Exclusive Recording

This superb 6-CD set brings together the three albums The Fall recorded for the Fontana label between 1990 and 1992. With new liner notes by noted writer and music journalist Daryl Easlea, the set features all the bonus tracks previously included in the 2007 2-CD deluxe reissues of each album.

Extricate, The Fall’s 12th album, was made immediately after bandleader Mark E. Smith and guitarist Brix Smith divorced, the latter being replaced by founding former-member Martin Bramah, who’d previously left the group in 1979. Lead-off single Telephone Thing could have been seen as a nod to the Manchester scene of the time - its origins were in Smith's previous collaboration with Coldcut. The album's best known track, though, was one of the least typical of the group's catalogue: Bill Is Dead, a slow-paced tender love song, which topped John Peel's Festive Fifty that year,

Shift-Work was the 1991 follow-up, which they began working on in 1990 while still touring in support of Extricate. In the opinion of critic Ted Mills it marked a change in direction for the group, as "repetitious grooves became interspersed with pop song structures."

Code: Selfish was the band’s14th album which entered the chart at number 21. It’s characterised by a harsher sound in relation to the previous year's Shift-Work, and draws influences from techno. Despite this, the album also has some notably mellow moments with Time Enough at Last and Gentlemen's Agreement. Largely recorded in a converted church in Glasgow, Code: Selfish features the group's only self-penned Top 40 single Free Range.

Find Similar Products by Category

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Write your own product review

Free UK Shipping

Recent Updates

Sign up to our newsletter

Connect with us: Facebook Twitter Instagram