Loading... Please wait...
  • Image 1

Appleseed’s 21st Anniversary: Roots and Branches - Various Artists (3 x CD)


Product Description

CD 1: Let the Truth Be Told
1. Pete Seeger – Oh Sacred World
2. Bruce Springsteen – If I Had a Hammer (exclusive new track)
3. Tom Morello – Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap (exclusive new track)
4. Tim Robbins – Well May the World Go (exclusive new track)
5. Joan Baez – I Wish the Wars were All Over
6. Pete Seeger, Billy Bragg, Steve Earle, Ani DiFranco & Anne Hills – Bring Them Home (If You Love Your Uncle Sam)
7. Tom Russell – Across the Border (exclusive new track)
8. Johnny Clegg: Love in the Time of Gaza
9. John Wesley Harding and Corporal Quorum – Scared of Guns (Amended) (exclusive new track)
10. Sweet Honey in the Rock – Second Line Blues
11. Anne Hills – Needle of Death (exclusive new track)
12. Natalie Merchant & Friends – There is No Good Reason
13. The Kennedys – Give Me Back My Country
14. Studs Terkel – Blessed Be the Nation
15. Tom Morello – This Land is Your Land
16. Bruce Springsteen – We Shall Overcome
17. Pete Seeger – Dr. King on Violence

CD2: The Wisdom Keepers
1. Jesse Winchester – Get It Right One Day (exclusive new track)
2. Donovan – Poorman’s Sunshine
3. Dick Gaughan – Land of the North Wind
4. Tom Paxton & Anne Hills – Follow that Road
5. Al Stewart – Katherine of Oregon
6. Jonathan Edwards – Surrounded
7. Jackson Browne and Bonnie Raitt – Kisses Sweeter than Wine
8. Angel Band – Jump Back in the Ditch
9. Eric Andersen – Gonna Go Crazy
10. Tom Rush – What I Know
11. Sweet Honey in the Rock – IDK, But I’m LOL!
12. Lizzie West & the White Buffalo – Portrait of an Artist as a Young Woman (Thank You)
13. Joel Rafael Band with Jackson Browne, Jimmy LaFave & Arlo Guthrie – Stepstone
14. Tom Paxton – Looking for the Moon
15. Pete Seeger & Lorre Wyatt – Somos El Barco/We Are the Boat
16. John Stewart – There is Love (The Wedding Song) (exclusive new track)
17. Jesse Winchester – Sham-a-Ling-Dong-Ding
18. Dick Gaughan – When I’m Gone

CD3: Keeping the Songs Alive
1. John Gorka – The Water is Wide
2. David Bromberg with Levon Helm – Bring It with You When You Come
3. Ramblin’ Jack Elliott – Roving Gambler
4. Tim Eriksen – Careless Love
5. Donovan – Wild Mountain Thyme (exclusive new track)
6. Roger McGuinn with Judy Collins – John Riley
7. John Wesley Harding – Canadee-I-O
8. Bernice Reagon Johnson with Kim & Reggie Harris – Oh Mary, Don’t You Weep
9. Pete Seeger – Going Across the Mountain
10. Frank Proffitt – Tom Dooley
11. Guardabarranco – Asturias
12. Lila Downs – El Quinto Regimiento
13. Aoife Clancy – Are You Sleepin’, Maggie?
14. Alec Stone Sweet – Mrs. Poer, or, The Concerto
15. Jody Stecher & Kate Brislin – Sow ’Em on the Mountain
16. Steve Young – Little Birdie
17. Mike Seeger & Peggy Seeger – Cindy
18. Sharon Katz & the Peace Train – Sanalwami
19. Danny Glover & Rev. Robert B. Jones, Sr. – Keep Your Lamps Trimmed and Burning
20. Kim & Reggie Harris – Wade in the Water
21. John Stewart & Darwin’s Army – Bay of Mexico
22. Tommy Sands with Dolores Keane & Vedran Smailovic – Where Have All the Flowers Gone

Nine previously unreleased tracks by Bruce Springsteen, Tom Morello, Donovan, Jesse Winchester, John Wesley Harding, John Stewart, Anne Hills.

For more than two decades the independent US-based Appleseed Recordings label has been releasing new and archival CDs of folk and roots-oriented music by many well-known musicians – Pete Seeger, Al Stewart, Donovan, Tom Rush, Sweet Honey in the Rock, David Bromberg, Jesse Winchester, Peggy Seeger and more. The label’s artist-friendly policies and idealistic devotion to issuing music of social and political import has also attracted numerous guest artists (Bruce Springsteen, Jackson Browne, Bonnie Raitt, Joan Baez, and Judy Collins, among others) to contribute songs to its releases.

Appleseed’s 21st Anniversary: Roots and Branches, features catalog highlights and nine new/previously unreleased recordings by Bruce Springsteen, Donovan, Tom Morello (Rage Against the Machine, Prophets of Rage), Jesse Winchester, John Wesley Harding, Tim Robbins, and others. The set is both a celebration of the label’s ongoing mission – to explore the roots and branches of folk and world music and to sow the seeds of social justice through music – and a political and cultural statement. Each of the three discs is devoted to a separate aspect of the label’s focus.

The full-color 32-page booklet accompanying the 3-CD, 8-panel digipack contains extensive song notes and a label history by its founder and president, Jim Musselman, a former safety and environmental lawyer who worked with Ralph Nader.

Preview tracks here:

Other Details


Find Similar Products by Category

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Write your own product review

Free UK Shipping

Record Store Day Logo

Love Record Stores


Recent Updates

Sign up to our newsletter

Connect with us: Facebook Twitter Instagram