Loading... Please wait...
  • Image 1

Grateful Dead - Portland Memorial Coliseum, Portland, OR 5/19/74 (VINYL SET)


Product Description

Disc 1, Side A:
1. Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo
2. Mexicali Blues
3. Big Railroad Blues
4. Black-Throated Wind

Disc 1, Side B:
1. Scarlet Begonias
2. Beat It On Down The Line
3. Tennessee Jed
4. Me And Bobby McGee

Disc 2, Side A:
1. Sugaree
2. Jack Straw
3. It Must Have Been The Roses
4. El Paso

Disc 2, Side B:
1. Loose Lucy
2. Money Money

Disc 3, Side A:
1. China Cat Sunflower
2. I Know You Rider

Disc 3, Side B:
1. Promised Land
2. Bertha
3. Greatest Story Ever Told
4. Ship Of Fools

Disc 4, Side A:
1. Weather Report Suite (Prelude/Part I/Part II – Let It Grow)

Disc 4, Side B:
1. Wharf Rat
2. Big River

Disc 5, Side A:
1. Peggy-O

Disc 5, Side B:
1. Truckin’
2. Jam

Disc 6, Side A:
1. Not Fade Away
2. Goin’ Down The Road Feeling Bad
3. One More Saturday Night

Disc 6, Side B:
1. U.S. Blues

During the Grateful Dead’s legendary 30-year run, the band often visited its northern neighbours in Portland, Seattle, and less-than-often Vancouver. Even so, official live recordings from those cities are something of a rarity.

The complete Portland Memorial Coliseum concert from 5/19/74 will be released across six 180g vinyl. During the period when the shows were recorded, the Grateful Dead included: Jerry Garcia, Donna Jean Godchaux, Keith Godchaux, Bill Kreutzmann, Phil Lesh and Bob Weir.

The 1974 shows were recorded just a few weeks before the band released its seventh studio album, From The Mars Hotel. The band once again took the opportunity to preview songs from its upcoming album, such as “U.S. Blues,” Loose Lucy,” “Money Money,” and “Ship of Fools.” Another song from the album – “Scarlet Begonias” – was played on its own, three years before it would be linked with “Fire On The Mountain” in 1977.

In addition to mixing newer and older songs, the band also included a performance of the entire “Weather Report Suite.” Soon after these shows, the song’s “Prelude” and “Part I” were dropped for good, leaving behind only the final third of the composition, “Let It Grow,” which would continue to be part of the band’s live shows until 1995.

The show was mastered in HDCD from the original master tapes by Jeffrey Norman at Mockingbird Mastering. The transfers from the masters were transferred and restored by Plangent Processes, further ensuring that this is the best, most authentic that this show has ever sounded.

Other Details

Rock & Pop

Find Similar Products by Category

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Write your own product review

Free UK Shipping

Record Store Day Logo

Love Record Stores


Recent Updates

Sign up to our newsletter

Connect with us: Facebook Twitter Instagram