Loading... Please wait...
  • Image 1

Neil Young - A Letter Home (2 x 12" LP | 7 x 6" VINYL | CD | DVD | BOOK)


Product Description

1. A Letter Home Intro
2. Changes
3. Girl From The North Country
4. Needle Of Death
5. Early Morning Rain
6. Crazy
7. Reason To Believe
8. On The Road Again
9. If You Could Read My Mind
10. Since I Met You Baby
11. My Hometown
12. I Wonder If I Care As Much

- 1 standard 12” LP vinyl

- 1 “direct feed from the booth” audiophile 12” LP vinyl

- Seven 6" clear vinyl record booth discs

- 1 standard CD

-1 standard DVD

- 1 32-page, 12” x 12” book

- Download card to redeem the digital album of the “direct feed from the booth” audiophile version

Neil Young recorded this collection of covers on Third Man's refurbished 1947 recording booth at their Nashville headquarters. Imagine a very simple recording studio not much larger than a phone booth and you’ll get the idea. He describes the album as "an unheard collection of rediscovered songs from the past recorded on ancient electro-mechanical technology captures and unleashes the essence of something that could have been gone forever." Recorded live to track to one-track, mono, the album has an inherent warm, primitive feel of a vintage Folkways recording.

As for the track-listing, Young chose songs that have personal meaning for him, such as British folk artist Bert Jansch’s “Needle of Death” (which inspired Young to write 1972’s “Needle and the Damage Done”), Bob Dylan’s “Girl from the North Country,” Willie Nelson’s “Crazy,” Don Everly’s “I Wonder If I Care as Much,” Bruce Springsteen’s “My Home Town,” and many others.

The album begins with Neil recording a spoken letter to his late mother, informing her of his personal and present state of affairs which sets the tone and atmosphere for the duration of the album. He does this once again at the beginning of Side 2 in a way which could explain why he’s selected these particular songs to record. In essence, this presentation is, as its title implies, A Letter Home from Neil.

Other Details

Neil Young
Rock & Pop

Find Similar Products by Category

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Write your own product review

Free UK Shipping

Record Store Day Logo

Love Record Stores


Recent Updates

Sign up to our newsletter

Connect with us: Facebook Twitter Instagram