Loading... Please wait...
  • Image 1
  • Image 2

The Band 50th Anniversary - The Band (2 x CD)


Product Description

CD 1:

The Band Remastered:
1. Across The Great Divide
2. Rag Mama Rag
3. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
4. When You Awake
5. Up On Cripple Creek
6. Whispering Pines
7. Jemima Surrender
8. Rockin’ Chair
9. Look Out Cleveland
10. Jawbone
11. The Unfaithful Servant
12. King Harvest (Has Surely Come)

CD 2:

2019 Bonus Tracks*:
13. Up On Cripple Creek (Earlier Take)
14. Rag Mama Rag (Alternate Version)
15. The Unfaithful Servant (Alternate Version)
16. Look Out Cleveland (Instrumental Mix)
17. Rockin’ Chair (A Cappella / Stripped Down)
18. Up On Cripple Creek (Instrumental Mix)
*Previously unreleased

Live At Woodstock (1969):
1. Chest Fever
2. Tears of Rage
3. We Can Talk
4. Don’t Ya Tell Henry
5. Baby Don’t You Do It
6. Ain’t No More Cane on the Brazos
7. Long Black Veil
8. This Wheel’s on Fire
9. I Shall Be Released
10. The Weight
11. Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever

Studio Bonus Tracks (from 2000 reissue):
12. Get Up Jake (Outtake – Stereo Mix)
13. Rag Mama Rag (Alternate Vocal Take – Rough Mix)
14. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down (Alternate Mix)
15. Up On Cripple Creek (Alternate Take)
16. Whispering Pines (Alternate Take)
17. Jemima Surrender (Alternate Take)
18. King Harvest (Has Surely Come) (Alternate Performance)

Released on the 22nd September, 1969, the eponymous second studio effort by The Band is a concept album, with the songs focusing on people, places and traditions associated with an older version of Americana. It was recorded in the pool house of a home rented by the group in the Hollywood Hills which was once owned by Judy Garland, Wally Cox and, at the time the group worked there, Sammy Davis, Jr. According to Robbie Robertson, the location was chosen to give the songs a Basement Tapes-like feel in what was termed “a clubhouse concept.”

50th Anniversary Edition 2 CD, includes 13 outtakes, featuring six previously unreleased outtakes and alternate recordings from The Band sessions, as well as The Band’s legendary Woodstock performance, which has never been officially released. Capitol/UMe release The Band 50th Anniversary.

Other Details

Rock & Pop

Find Similar Products by Category

Product Reviews

Write your own product review

  1. The harvest is in 5 Star Review

    Posted by on 18th Nov 2019

    Following 2018's beautiful remix of Music From Big Pink, Bob Clearmountain has done it again. If anything, this is more tastefully done: the only bold creative decisions are to fade out some of the tracks a little later, so we hear Garth Hudson's stunning playout on Rag Mama Rag in full; and Rick Danko's "I'd stand on the rock where Moses stood" at the close of When You Awake. Other than things like that, the sound of the whole thing is pretty stunning: the thwack of Levon Helm's drums has never sounded woodier. I'd even say that Look Out Cleveland is a marked improvement on the original mix. A couple of the new outtakes - Cripple Creek, Unfaithful Servant - are really something. I don't hear what others do in the Woodstock set; but no complaints. Ultimately, unless I've missed a trick, there are no CD tracks on the big, £90 box set that aren't on here. All you're paying for on that is a bit of vinyl and a bit of packaging: the good stuff is all on these two CDs, and for under £18. One hell of a good deal.

Free UK Shipping

Record Store Day Logo

Love Record Stores


Recent Updates

Sign up to our newsletter

Connect with us: Facebook Twitter Instagram